The Capuanos are leaving Pauma

It’s tough to say…anything.

I found out about this news (forgot to mention this in the original post. The church cannot afford more than 1 salary, which would be the senior pastor’s salary. So we have to leave by default) on November 2, about 19 months to the day of when we first began at Pauma.  The full gamut of emotions have been gone through like Dominic blows through diapers.  Sadness for leaving when it feels like we just got started. Excitement for the mystery that lies before us. An uncertain feeling about the future, having no idea what we are going to do next. Nervousness because we have a kid on the way. Sadness for having to leave the junior high and senior high students that I love so much.

Above all, however, God has graciously allowed Psalm 31 to be our song throughout.  The preaching schedule had me slated to speak on November 6, just 4 days after this bomb was dropped. Instead of preaching on something relating to the Philippians study we were planning on starting in January with the High School students, I decided to preach on Psalm 31, a lament Psalm that expresses trust in YHWH as a rock, fortress and defender during a time of great trouble.  v21-22 say this, “Praise be to the LORD, for he showed me the wonders of his love ; when I was in a city under siege. In my alarm I said,  “I am cut off from your sight!”   Yet you heard my cry for mercy  when I called to you for help.”

I have no idea what is coming in the next few weeks, months and even years.  I have no idea where we are going to live, how we are going to make money, or whether or not the Lord will be gracious enough to allow this soon-to-be flockless shepherd the opportunity to shepherd another flock.  While today I am full of faith that He truly is my rock and my refuge, I would not put it past me to look at the situation rather than YHWH and say, “I am cut off from your sight” along with David.

But this I know for sure.  Jesus is my everything, in Him is my soul satisfied completely.  He is my rock, He is my refuge.  By His grace He has lead us up to this point, and by His grace He will lead us into the future.  I know for sure that His ways are not my ways, that His wisdom makes my “wisdom” look like a child’s foolery.  I know for sure that He has redeemed me, and that my redemption is sure because of the righteousness of Christ.  I know that He has adopted me as His son, a privilege that goes far beyond anything I could have ever imagined. He is the Great Father whom I look to (and often take for granted) to provide for me always, and who teaches me how to provide for my children in the same way.

Nothing can take these things away from me because they have been given to me by the Creator and Sustainer of all things.  While we know for sure that this is a time of uncertainty, it is surely not a time to loose faith in our God. His kindness and goodness extend to the heavens and somehow he has been gracious enough to show us His kindness and goodness time and again.  This is a time to pray, to seek His face, to rejoice in the cross, to believe in what He says; not to doubt.

The Capuanos are going to be OK because our foundation is upon Jesus Christ.  We pray that the next 3 months (we are employed through the first couple weeks of March) are full and effective to the glory of Christ, that He uses us in ways that we have not imagined, that people are changed by the Gospel through our testimony.

4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Richelle on December 6, 2010 at 1:16 pm

    I’m so sorry to hear this, but glad you posted about it. I’m encouraged by your faith in God to continue to take care of you as he always has, and to put you where you and your family can be of the most use to Him. You are in my prayers!

    Reply

  2. Thank you, Richelle.
    Is this Richelle Trickle? Or Richelle Mystery?

    Reply

  3. Hey man, in 2005 the church I was a Youth Pastor of made the decision that they could no longer afford their Youth Group Program anymore nor my salary of $12,000.00 per year (Part Time Wages in JMSTWN, ND) the Youth Group had grown from 5 to 50 and my wife Rebecca was just getting used to being a wife, a mother and a Youth Pastor/ministry Assistant’s Wife. It was rough but 6 years later we have another son, a dog, a roof over our heads food in the fridge and our love for God keeps us going every step of the way. If you ever want to chat call me brother. 701-658-0224.

    Reply

  4. From Rebecca and I to you and Shannon, may God Bless you both, give you the strength to stand strong in your love and faith in Him and may He show you both the next step in your lives. We will be praying for you.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

